How Many Premier League Titles Have Arsenal Won

How Many Premier League Titles Have Arsenal Won?

The last time Arsenal won the Premier League was in 2004 but you may still wonder how many League titles have the London club won altogether.

Based in Islington, London, Arsenal Football Club is one of the top-division English football clubs featuring in the Premier League.

As one of the most successful teams in English football, they have a horde of silverware adorning their trophy stalls including 2 League Cups, 14 FA Cups, the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup and the European Cup Winners’ Cup.

They trail Manchester United, who have 20 league titles, as the most successful club in English football.

“The Gunners” as they are very fondly called, since their inception in 1886, have won the Premier League three times since the League was founded in 1992, replacing the old First Division as the top-tier professional football league in England.

Arsenal Premier League Titles

Pointedly, Arsenal have won just 3 Premier League Titles; 1997–98, 2001–02, and 2003–04. Only seven clubs in total have claimed the Premier League championship since the competition’s existence.

Below is a table of Arsenal Premier League titles and the season they won.


Read Also: Can Arsenal Win The 2023/24 Premier League Title?

Arsenal 1997/98 Premier League Title

This was their first title since the First Division League was renamed the Premier League. Arsene Wenger was in charge after arriving at the club in 1996.

Dennis Bergkamp, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright were the key players in the squad leading the team to title victory.

Arsenal showed great determination and tactical acumen throughout the campaign. They finished the season with an impressive 78 points, narrowly edging out Manchester United by a single point.

One of the most memorable moments of the season came on May 3, 1998, at Arsenal’s crucial away game against Everton at Goodison Park. This was a defining moment in their title charge as they won 4-0, with two goals from Dennis Bergkamp and one each from Tony Adams and Nwankwo Kanu.

This victory propelled them to the top of the table, ultimately securing the title. The top four teams that season are shown in the table below:

2Manchester United77

Arsenal 2001/02 Premier League Title

Arsene Wenger was in charge and he had to prove that he was still potent enough to secure the Gunners a league title.

The key players in the team that season were Thierry Henry, Robert Pires and Patrick Vieira. These players brought out Arsenal’s attacking prowess and exceptional team chemistry.

They finished the season with 87 points, seven points clear of second-placed Liverpool.

One of the most memorable moments of the season came on April 6, 2002, when Arsenal recorded a memorable 2-0 victory over their North London rivals, Tottenham Hotspur, at White Hart Lane.

Goals from Robert Pires and Freddie Ljungberg secured the win, and the victory highlighted Arsenal’s dominance in the league that season. The top four teams that season are shown in the table below:

3Manchester United77
4Newcastle United71

Arsenal 2003/04 Premier League Title

Arsène Wenger was still the brains behind the season’s victory, using key players including Thierry Henry, Patrick Vieira and Sol Campbell to clinch the league title.

Many believe that the title is the most remarkable achievement in Arsenal’s history and one of the greatest feats in English football. The season saw Arsenal go unbeaten throughout the entire Premier League campaign, earning the squad and that era the nickname of the “The Invincibles“.

Arsenal finished the season with 90 points, 11 points ahead of second-placed Chelsea. One of the most memorable moments of the season was the 2-2 draw against Tottenham Hotspur at Highbury on April 25, 2004. Arsenal bounced back from a two-goal deficit to secure a point, ensuring that they would complete the league season unbeaten. The top four teams that season are shown in the table below:

3Manchester United75

How Many English League Titles Have Arsenal Won Altogether?

When the league was still known as the First Division, Arsenal bagged 10 titles from 1931 to 1992. Below is the table of Arsenal’s First Division titles:


If we were to include both the Premier League and the First Division League as the top-flight league of English Club Football, we would total the trophies to 13.

French world-renowned tactician, Arsène Wenger is responsible for leading Arsenal through its most prosperous stretch in the Premier League since he took over as manager in 1996.

The team won three Premier League championships, and seven FA Cups, and reached the 2006 UEFA Champions League final under his direction.

Compare: Community Shield vs Carabao Cup – Which Is Bigger?

Check out some additional facts about Arsenal’s Premier League titles:

  • Arsenal’s first Premier League title win in 1997-98 was their first league title in 18 years.
  • Arsenal’s 2003-04 unbeaten season is the only time in Premier League history that a team has gone unbeaten.
  • Arsenal have won the Premier League titles with a record low of 79 points in 2001-02.
  • Arsenal has never been relegated from the Premier League.

Arsenal’s recent poor Premier League run

Even as we focus on the club’s successes in the Premier League, we have to say that Arsenal’s Premier League performance in recent years has not been as good as it once was.

Even though they haven’t won the championship since 2004, they remain among England’s most well-liked and prosperous clubs.

With a fan base of about 113 million worldwide and being the third most-liked football team in the world behind Manchester United and Real Madrid, their Premier League trophy drought is in no way good for business, team spirit and the flair for the team.

Some attribute this to a number of issues including the financial limitations during the construction of the Emirates Stadium, which was completed in 2006. The financial burden of the stadium impacted the club’s ability to spend as freely in the transfer market as some of its rivals, leading to a perceived lack of investment in world-class players.

Another point is the fact that Arsenal’s recruitment and squad-building strategies were not always effective. While the club produced some exceptional talents through their youth academy, they were sometimes criticized for failing to address specific areas of weakness within the team, especially in defence and midfield.

The departure of Arsène Wenger in 2018, after over two decades as the club’s manager, created a period of transition for Arsenal. Wenger’s successor, Unai Emery, faced challenges in implementing his style and tactics, and the managerial changes may have affected the team’s stability and performance.

Arsenal has also been criticized for defensive vulnerabilities during this period, with some fans and pundits suggesting that the team lacked a solid and organized defence, which is crucial for a title-winning campaign.

With all these pointers, fans sure hope that the club will break out this season, as Mikel Arteta struggles to show his impact in the club.

Final words

To hit the nail on the head again, Arsenal have won just 3 Premier League titles since it was so rebranded in 1992. However, before then Arsenal had won 10 English First Divisions. Altogether Arsenal have won the English League titles a total of 13 times.

Many are confident that Arsenal will continue to be a part of the League for decades to come and frankly, until some stroke of ill luck comes, they are destined to remain there.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *