how world cup host is decided

How A World Cup Host Is Decided

As we know, the FIFA World Cup is a global competition watched by millions of people across the world, which occurs every four years. It is held by a different host country. So how is a World Cup host decided?


FIFA is an acronym for Federation International Football Association and they are responsible for organizing international tournaments.

There are 211 member states of the FIFA congress and each one of them are allocated one vote to ensure fairness in the choosing process.

A decision to host the FIFA World Cup is a bidding process which begins seven to ten years prior to the knockout competition. This gives the host sufficient time to prepare. 

Each nation that puts in a bid to host the World Cup must have the scale and large amount of infrastructure.

A system of public work/sector of a country, including security and public transport options for spectators.

Commercial – businesses of host nation including hotels, restaurants, etc.

Logistical resources – planning of the country.

All the above is what FIFA determines as the general structure and guidelines for a World Cup and bidding system to go ahead.

FIFA will then inform the countries bidding, if they have been accepted for the specific tournament, they will distribute registration documents to the interested nations.

Bidding Process

They will have one month to complete the document before receiving another set of application forms – Once again each nation will be given one month to complete them before the finalized bid applications must be submitted.

Throughout the year, FIFA will then shortlist the initial collective bids and will remove the bids that do not meet FIFA’s regulations for the specific World Cup

It is then taken into an electronic vote conducted by the FIFA congress to decide who will host the future competitions.  

So for a World Cup host to be decided, the nation awarded, must acquire the majority of the votes.

World Cup Host Nation Evaluation Categories

In order to be accepted for a vote each nation must meet FIFA’s regulations and standards. These fall into three evaluation categories which are:-

  1. Compliance Assessment 
  2. Risk Assessment
  3. Technical Evaluation Report

1. The Compliance Assessment is whether the bid of a said nation responds to the hosting requirements

2. The Risk Assessment is looking at the systematic process of the country’s proposed/planned activities which are to be undertaken. This evaluates the financial income of the host nation of the World Cup.

3. The Technical Evaluation Report lastly will assess the ability of the nation’s infrastructure and commercial side necessary to host a World Cup.

Host Nation Must Be Worthy Of The Privilege

They must demonstrate the ability to host the world cup.

This has to include the number of football stadiums being used for each group game, second round matches, quarterfinals, semifinals and the final. 

As well as hospitality, including hotels and restaurants for the fans and services to host the event.

If all three of these evaluation requirements are passed by FIFA, then the voting process will begin.

Who Qualifies?

When the host nation is decided, the national football team of that country automatically qualifies for the World Cup. 

As for the other countries involved, they must go through a qualifying process involving playing against other countries within each continent.

That is also determined by FIFA, the number of nations from each continent that take part in the qualifying rounds.

This will then ensure a global competition watched across the world bringing happiness to the billions watching worldwide.

Bringing nations together, a combination of patriotism and loyalty.

Host Nation Requirements For Football Teams

The host nation must at least have 12 stadiums which have a seating capacity of 40,000 or more.

This should also include a training camp for each country involved. 

Under FIFA regulations the host nation must provide 72 base camp hotels for teams and referees within close distance to the stadium.

So financially for the host nation it will bring in more tourism, media coverage and revenue for the country.

For example, the 2022 World was worth about $220 billion.

THE 2026 WORLD CUP will be different, hosted by three countries; The United States of America, Canada and Mexico. Interestingly, 48 teams would compete instead of the usual 32 teams.

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *